Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from July 20, 2014

Review: The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark #2) by Shana Abe

The Deets:
Audience: YA
Pages: 320
ISBN:
Publisher:
Genre: fantasy, historical fiction
Source: Library book

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a dr├íkon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hosp…

Giveaway Time!

I have good and bad news.

The good news is I have an awesome signed book for a giveaway.

The bad news is that I had this book for a year and forgot about it. See, I've been doing some serious cleaning around here this summer. In the process, I've uncovered all kinds of things. Most of what I found is not useful, but I uncovered an entire box of books I grabbed from IRA in 2013-- for the purpose of a giveaway-- but forgot about it. They got lost in the piles of books I currently have.

It's sad for me to admit that. But at least I found it. Better late than never, right?

So here is what's up for grabs: 

* a signed ARC of Scorched

Not familiar with the book? Here's a bit about it:

Trinity
Don’t leave me here... It starts with a whisper. At first Trinity thinks she’s going crazy. It wouldn’t be a big surprise—her grandpa firmly believes there’s a genuine dragon egg in their dusty little West Texas town. But this voice is real, and it’s begging for her protection. Even if…

Review: If I Should Die (Amy Plum)

The Deets: 
Audience: YA
Pages: 405
Publisher: May 7th 2013 by HarperTeen
ISBN: 9780062004031
Genre: paranormal, paranormal romance, myth
Source: Library book

I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France’s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn’t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he’s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we’ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying—to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others—so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me? 



 I have put off reading this bo…

Review: Burning Blue (Paul Griffin)

The Deets:
Audience: YA, older MG
Pages: 288
Publisher: October 25th 2012 by Dial (first published October 24th 2012)
ISBN: 9780803738157
Genre: mystery
Source: Library book


How far would you go for love, beauty, and jealousy?

When Nicole Castro, the most beautiful girl in her wealthy New Jersey high school, is splashed with acid on the left side of her perfect face, the whole world takes notice. But quiet loner Jay Nazarro does more than that--he decides to find out who did it. Jay understands how it feels to be treated like a freak, and he also has a secret: He's a brilliant hacker. But the deeper he digs, the more danger he's in--and the more he falls for Nicole. Too bad everyone is turning into a suspect, including Nicole herself.

Award-winning author Paul Griffin has written a high-stakes, soulful mystery about the meaning--and dangers--of love and beauty.

I absolutely loved Paul Griffin's Stay with Me, so when I saw Burning Blue on the Teen …

Review: Dream Boy ( Madelyn Rosenberg)

The Deets: 
Audience: YA older MG
Pages: 336
Publisher: July 1st 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 9781402295836
Genre: mystery, paranormal
Source: eARC from Netgalley


Annabelle Manning feels like she’s doing time at her high school in Chilton, Virginia. She has her friends at her lunchtime table of nobodies. What she doesn’t have are possibilities. Or a date for Homecoming. Things get more interesting at night, when she spends time with the boy of her dreams. But the blue-eyed boy with the fairytale smile is just that—a dream. Until the Friday afternoon he walks into her chemistry class.

One of friends suspects he’s an alien. Another is pretty sure it’s all one big case of deja vu. While Annabelle doesn’t know what to think, she’s willing to believe that the charming Martin Zirkle may just be her dream come true. But as Annabelle discovers the truth behind dreams—where they come from and what they mean—she is forced to face a dark reality she had not expected. More than just Mar…